Should you delete facebook charlie brown technology expert 20180322 p5wa42.html – Breaking News & Latest Updates 2026
Advertisement
Advertisement
This was published 8 years ago

Don't #deletefacebook - just protect your data better

Charlie Brown

Powered by

Should you #deletefacebook?

I doubt the latest learnings around Facebook, Cambridge Analytica and third party app developers using or misusing our personal information have come as a complete surprise.

But the extent of data sharing and the ability to use Facebook members' data is now clear.

Advertisement

So should we delete our Facebook account or simply change the way we use the service?

I am in the camp that believes you should keep it - if it's something you really, really value.

But before you do anything further, change your settings to reduce the stockpile of data you are creating.

Still not convinced you should react?

Let's look at a simple action with Facebook, such as posting a photo.

How much personal information can be collected?

Firstly, seconds after uploading your photo, Facebook's facial scanner is linking the faces in the image, with other Facebook user accounts so that they can tag themselves, leave themselves untagged or report the photo if they deem it inappropriate.

Also, Facebook will store the meta data embedded in the image, called EXIF data.

Advertisement

This data includes your location, the type of device that took the photo, the time of day and more.

This image data is stripped from the photo so viewers in Facebook cannot see it, but it's used by Facebook to build a profile of you.

So what can we do to reduce the data that Facebook can collect and share?

Well, quite a lot - but it's a long and somewhat exhausting process, with many steps.

Advertisement
Advertisement

But these are steps you need to take.

Here are some things you can do:

Turn off location services

By going into the location service area of your apps, set the policy from "always" to "never".

Advertisement

Now Facebook no longer collects data on where you are.

Limit your sharing settings

This is the hardest of all things to do, because it is so complicated.

My view is that you should change in the privacy section the option for "who can see your future posts" so that it is "friends only".

Advertisement
Advertisement

Unlink third party apps

You have linked your Facebook account to third party apps at some point, we all have!

But this is how Cambridge Analytica use an app called "thisisyourdigitallife" to siphon information from up to 270,000 people.

By unlinking your Facebook account from third party apps, you stop the sharing between both parties and ensure that Facebook is the only organisation with access to your data.

Advertisement

Privacy Check Up

Your "About Me" section limits the amount of information you share with Facebook.

Click on the question mark in the top right corner of the section and go into the "Privacy Check Up".

Privacy Check Up is not available on all devices, but this section lets you adjust privacy settings for apps and games, and edit basic info on your profile.

Advertisement
Advertisement

While you are at it, adjust your advertising preferences on the "Ad Preferences" so that Facebook no longer shows you advertising based on your advertising interests.

Personally, I don't use Facebook as a personal communications tool; I don't need it.

But if I did, I would not set foot on the service until following the above steps.

If you are still thinking you are going to delete your Facebook account, you can do that.

Advertisement

But remember, there is a 90-day cooling off period, so do not to access the service during this time or Facebook will cancel your "cancel" request. 

Charlie Brown is the publisher of CyberShack.

email icon

Contact us

Share a tip-off, video or photo with us

Most viewed in Australia

More to explore